top of page

Where the heart is! Part 2

After returning from the wedding in Prince George I had a few more days in the Okanagan before making my trip down to Vancouver and then back to China... oh how it was going by way too quickly! I did as many of my favorite things as I could, including spending time at old favorite places, like the beach... hiking with my dogs and eating wings at the small sports memorabilia pub. It is the little things that make me feel the most at home.


And as a belated graduation to my mother, after all those years of hard work, we finally went on that wine tour we have been talking about for ages. As you can tell... I have a favorite sitting pose after I am X-number of glasses in. Congrats again on finishing your degree!

Down to Vancouver

This was the last little leg of my grand home tour... and it was packed with family, day trips and LOTS of driving. One highlight was Grandville Island, where I was finally of age to drink all the beers, including a unique few. What I guessed was burnt bacon and maple diabetes flavoured, while interesting... was a "never again" kind of beer!


On top of this first I also went to my 1st BC Lions game... still have never seen a hockey game, but that will come with time. Thanks for taking me dad and opting for some amazing seats!


Another 1st

After much deliberation, my cousin Elizabeth and I decided to do the Sea-to-Sky hike in Squamish... which resulted in us taking the wrong turn anyway and doing The Chief, constantly thinking we could be smart and take the gondola down. Only after getting to the top did we realize we were a whole mountain top away from the intended destination. 3 hours later and we were back at the car and ready for a nap. The views and general good vibes from the hike were all I needed and just being in the beautiful air again were worth it (until the horrible fires overtook BC). I miss this ability to just get out and feel free, rather than surrounded by millions of people and 1000's of malls...

The last couple days was spent with my youngest cousin Danielle, who just graduated high school and was willing to humor me with ice cream, green curry and bowling. Thanks for being the real MVP and putting up with me for 2 days straight.

I miss everyone so much already and being back in China just reinforces how much I love my home, but I know it is not time for me to "settle" there yet. Don't get me wrong, that is the place that I want to spend "the rest of my life", because I love BC, but there is just so much more to explore and learn about the world itself first.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page