top of page

Moon Cakes

Generally, a mood cake is a Chinese baked good eaten during the Mid-Autumn Festival, which gives appreciation to the lunar cycle and is considered a delicacy. They are everywhere in China around this time of year, including Starbucks. I've had them before but I never really know which flavours are which and so I have decided to try out a brand of them with multiple flavours and rate them! This is partially because I am curious and mostly because I am bored...


The scoring is as followed (in order to remain somewhat standard):

1 -> 5 points for taste

1 -> 5 points for AFTER taste (believe me, it's important)

1 -> 5 points for eatability (Did I even finish it...)

1 -> 5 point for general ranking

Overall verdict in 1 word! (Bonus - What flavour do I think it is?)


 

Round 1: Green Moon Cake

Taste = Nutty (5)

After taste = Sour Nuts? (3)

Eatability = Yes (5)

Ranking = 1st (5)

Verdict = Alright Alright Alright (Total = 18 points)

(+ Maybe some kind of nut bean)


Round 2: Orange Moon Cake

Taste = Spicy...? (1)

After taste = Worse... (1)

Eatability = NO (1)

Ranking = 5th (1)

Verdict = Never Again (Total = 4 points)

(+ Chunks of something green)

Round 3: Blue Moon Cake

Taste = Spicy Nuts?? (2)

After taste = The same... (2)

Eatability = NO (1)

Ranking = 3rd (3)

Verdict = Could have been worse (Total = 8 points)

(+ peppers)

Round 4: Purple Moon Cake

Taste = Beans (3)

After taste = Red Bean (4)

Eatability = Yea (5)

Ranking = 2nd (4)

Verdict = Not Bad (Total = 16 points)

(+ Probably red bean)

Round 5: Pink Moon Cake

Taste = Fruity? (4)

After taste = Smelly (2)

Eatability = Nope (2)

Ranking = 4th (2)

Verdict = Nada (Total = 10 points)

(+ Chunks of something)

So the overall verdict goes as followed: Green > Purple > Blue > Pink > Orange


And this is with the generally opinion that they were all pretty horrible... in terms of a flaky texture and hard outside. Not really what I was expecting, so I think I will consider this round a FAILURE. Just means I will have to go back to the shop and get the other set... which has 6 varieties this time!!




You Might Also Like:
bottom of page