top of page

The Breaking Point

My first day of classes started out like crap! I was jet lagged, homesick, and extremely hungry due to a physical exam I needed to take, where I had to fast for 12 hours ☹ This turned into 14 hours when the paper wasn’t filled out correctly, went to the wrong building, and everyone types so damn slow! How come your payment system is high tech, but you can’t type with more than two fingers? Finally, I have a full physical… by 7 different doctors. Each doctor is in their own little room that is dimly lit down completely dark hallways and inside is the oldest looking medical equipment I have ever seen, probably dating back to my parents’ era. Don’t get me wrong these doctors were efficient and skilled, but the only one who looked excited to see me was in radiology. This was mainly because he was 20 years old and the X-ray has outlines of boobs in it. Overall, these people were great, but it wasn’t the best experience while I was extremely H-ANGRY, or hella angry!



The Turnaround!


  1. Class - I spent most of the day prepping even though it was only 40 minutes, but I was really nervous. This class consisted of 4 VERY energetic and loud boys… and I was so happy to teach them 😊. I think I can make a big impact on their learning and I can’t wait to teach them again!

  2. Directionally Challenged - I walked home all by myself!! Which may not seem impressive, but this is a huge place where I currently have no phone and can’t pronounce the street names in the slightest. Thank you to the one Google map image that wasn’t blurry and the security guards who congratulated me making it home…

  3. Cat - lastly, and most importantly (for those I told about my cat dream) … I was followed home by a kitten! This is the massive highlight and a homesickness remedy, where I spent 15 minutes cuddling this cat while feeding it rice, because I didn’t know what else to do. If I see this cat again, I am stealing it and bring it home!


Update: Found a cat cafe today... was not disappointed in the cuteness!




You Might Also Like:
bottom of page