top of page

Đà Lạt

Da Lat was the one place that I never looked at before having multiple people give me recommendations to go here because it was so beautiful and interesting. So in a spontaneous moment from Hoi An I booked an open bus to Da Lat before going on the HCMC, which coincidentally was the same plans as one of guys from the hostel as well, so I had a travel buddy! This was the best decision because I went to get Pho at this absolutely random place and fate pretty much dropped someone in front of me, who had all these great ideas of where to go. So we went on the perfect little day-date to:

  • Linh Phuoc Pagoda

  • Dalat Flower Park

  • Hằng Nga guesthouse (Crazy House)

  • Maze Bar

The Crazy House and Maze Bar were the strangest and most unconventional buildings I have ever been in, which were both designed and constructed by Vietnamese architect Đặng Việt Nga. The Maze bar is pretty much set up so that you are constantly trying to balance your drink and find your way around the most messed up maze. It didn't help when we were being intentionally led in the wrong direction by the one person who had been there before, so it took forever to make it out. Like a pathetically long time!


Missed opportunity


My second full day there I was going to rent a motorbike and go to Elephant Waterfall, or do the cable car up to the temple, but I came down with a super day sickness! Either it was heat stroke and dehydration or food poisoning (probably both), because I was struggling for half of the day and then I had to go back, have cold showers every hour and sleep. It was absolutely terrible, but some absolutely great people helped me through, with medication, hydrating drinks or letting me use their bottom bunk so I didn't have to constantly climb the ladder.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page