top of page

Exploring the City!

After having a stressful entry into Korea, even with the help of someone who had done the literal exact journey only hours prior (there is a whole post of travel anxiety), I finally got to explore the beautiful city of Seoul. Especially after hearing so many amazing things about Korea in general, I was extremely excited to spend my 4 days getting acquainted and seeing old friends.



1st Day

When check in was done the first thing on the agenda was wine, not food... WINE! The METRO goes anywhere you want, where Austin and I decided on the university district. I met Austin in New Zealand while I was studying, so that we both planned and made it to Korea together was a miracle. We bought two bottles of wine from the corner store and the first was spent catching up in the park by the police box like true rebels. The second bottle was leisurely drank while walking around shopping district. Trying on makeup (me) and sunglasses (him), as well as LUSH hand stuff (both), before settling on the loved KTV!!!!!! Which I hate (ironically) and he had never been to (you're welcome Austin). Safe to say that we killed it! But only after finding the English song codes.


2nd Day

I spent a great deal of this day lost and slightly overwhelmed. But after finding Austin and I stopped looking so damn lost, we made our way to JJ. He is the most amazing guy I met while in China and he graciously led our dumb asses around for the rest of the day. Once we managed to meet up with him... 2 hours late because or out incompetence we were GOLDEN! We all went to some island on the main river through the city to take beautiful pictures then ate some amazing food and did some other stuff I think (I am writing this two weeks later and remembering why I write blogs in the first place --- my memory is shit).


3rd Day

Hanbok day (refer to other post). After this we decided to find the "Blue house", which is apparently the Korean "White house", but I am Canadian and don't give a shit... so I just went along with it. Does anyone know what color Justin Trudeau's house is? We didn't find it in the end, but we did a huge hike that overlooked most of the city and had an amazing time enjoying the sun. We did not take any pictures for some reason though...


Pretty sure this is the day that we went to Itaewon as well (or day 2)... but that wasn't exactly the most spectacular because neither of us could get into ANY bar. This would be China's fault! Who needs their ID and age identification in China! The answer is absolutely no one and this not transferring over to Korea didn't even cross our minds. So pretty much... China's fault!




3rd Day

Austin left and I was excited for some solo exploring. I move hostels and end up meeting these amazing people, including a German who can speak fluent Chinese and a Taiwanese student learning Japanese (in Japan) and trying to teach me Chinese (because "I should know it... it is easy... YOU LIVE IN CHINA!"). Safe to say that I was the butt of every joke. Learning from past mistakes I brought my ID to the bar and had an amazing time, staying out until 4 am and eating street food.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page