top of page

Dentists in China

Originally I thought going to the dentist to get a general cleaning would be something I would never do... but today that is exactly what I did. The best part about it was that it was only due to a student giving me a dentist gift card as a "present"... so like when other students gave me chocolate and candy, this forward thinking kid was really looking out for my best interests. Thanks Felix!




Between getting the card and actually going to the dentist was a matter of a couple day, with everything going very efficiently and quickly. The dentist even had a decent amount of English vocab to reassure me that I wasn't going to end up with all fake teeth. His favorite sayings consisted of "open your mouth", "you're fine" and the always popular "wait a moment".


All in all, the experience was relatively simple. The instruments were extremely loud compared, and it was hard not to imagine that they were using an industrial grinder on my teeth. My face was also soaked after because there is a water cleaning instrument, but apparently not a very effective suction vacuum one... so that sucked! NOT... HAHA


There was also the added comfort of the small talk being non-existent. Whatever it is about all dentists wanting to ask you about school, work and your relationships while you have your mouth open, well that doesn't happen here. SO THANK YOU FOR THAT CHINA!


Best part was... the amount of compliments on my teeth, mostly that the dental work done before was really good and talking for 20 minutes about how China should implement the filling materials (thanks mom for feeding me Flintstones vitamins for 5 years)


OOOOOHH... and the stellar selfie at the end of the appointment. Will be looking out for that picture somewhere on social media on the next few days I am sure.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page