top of page

Where the heart is! Part 1

Home!


Where the heart is, as the saying goes... mainly because it is filled with family! After 10 months away teaching English I went back home for a quick 2 week visit in order to mend some relationships, see old friends and revel in the beauty that is British Columbia. The first thing I did after three flights over 24 hours was rush to Tim Hortons, in typical Canadian fashion and it was everything I had dreamed of! Wow, did I ever miss bagels!!! Everything went by so quickly and was filled with so much socializing that I came back to China a social hermit, which is difficult when there are millions of people everywhere. Here is a little review of my wonderful time home...


Week 1 started with a day trip to Penticton as the passenger of a very fast motorbike, courtesy of Greg, to float down the Channel with my work friend Alysia!


It then included a road trip with my darling sister to Prince George for a wedding of a really long-time ago friend, dating back to gymnastics when we were 8. This brought up a lot of blasts from the pasts and opportunity to see how peoples lives turned out. I saw my old coach and teammates, as well as by chance running into some neighbors that someone recognized us. Good to know my face looks the same from when I was a kid.

The wedding also brought about a series of emotions on Aly's face that I just couldn't resist sharing:

We even managed to stop in Williams Lake to visit my bestie from University, CODY! Who then drove me back from PG to Vernon on a fun 10 hour road trip, so he is the real MVP here!

This was a busy 1st week back, but it was amazing to see everyone and visit places I haven't seen in up to 10 years. Funny how that number doesn't seem so long after you finish high school and things go by so quickly. Plus there is the fact that people are getting married and having kids, while last you remember you were trying to drown each other in the kiddie pool.











You Might Also Like:
bottom of page